UEFA Super Cup press conference with Ancelotti, Casillas and Bale.

Ahead of the UEFA Super Cup tomorrow, Carlo Ancelotti joined Iker Casillas and Gareth Bale in a press conference at 19:30 CET at Cardiff City Stadium. The presser started with questions directed to Casillas and Bale:

Casillas & Carlo.
Casillas & Carlo.

Casillas started by answering questions regarding the UEFA Super cup trophy, his tough period he’s having lately and the current squad.

 Real Madrid has an obligation to win this trophy, we are the biggest team in the world, so the pressure is very high, but we are used to it. The UEFA Super Cup is an important trophy at stake, it’s a special one for Real Madrid. I have never felt unfairly judged by anyone. Everyone has ups and downs but it’s just temporary, wearing the Real Madrid jersey comes with a great responsibility. I do my best to help the team but I admit that I have not been at my best condition lately. However, I’ve had worse moments in my career and I overcame them, so I will try to do that again as I believe that this isn’t the worst moment during my career. Being criticized is normal, we’re always exposed to it whether we do good or bad. We need to be patient with the new comers, because it is always hard to get used to a new team and a new city, but I’m sure they will help us a lot. Our squad was already great, which we proved by winning two titles, but I think we are stronger now.

 Bale then came on to comment about his home coming experience.

 Coming home is a great feeling but I most focus on winning this important title not on my homecoming. I have worked hard during the summer to come back stronger than ever and now, I’m in great shape. No matter what happens tomorrow or who plays or scorers, the most important thing is winning the UEFA Super Cup. Participating in the pre-season with the team is much better for me, I’m feeling terrific and looking forward to start the new season.

Bale.
Bale.

 Next on the agenda was Carlo Ancelotti, who spoke about Cristiano’s injury, the newcomers and Real Madrid in general. Carlo also mentioned that Casillas, Kroos, James and Bale will all start tomorrow.

 All our players are feelind good now. It is true that we have not won any game yet, but our work has been satisfactory. Some players have only had a few days of training, but they are all in a good condition. Cristiano has fully recovered from the injury he has had last season, he’s in great shape and completely ready to start the new season. James can play in any position in midfield, he can play on both wings, but he can also play behind our striker, or even as an offensive midfielder. We’ll see what works with James. Kroos will help us a lot, strategically & especially with his positioning on the pitch. He’s a remarkable player. Right now, Sami Khedira is a Real Madrid player. We are willing to use him to win titles. He is working hard to be able to help us. Di Maria has trained well since August 5 to play in this game. I do not know what will happen, but until now he’s still a Real Madrid player. We will have to wait until August 31 to see what happens. I spoke to Diego Lopez yesterday to thank him for his work in Madrid and I have wished him good luck. Iker Casillas will be our starting goalkeeper tomorrow and probably during the entire season but I won’t say now. Everyone in football makes mistakes and Iker has admitted in doing a few mistakes last season but we must not forget that he has had a great Champions League season least year. Casillas is very confident now.

Leave a comment